STALKING JACK THE RIPPER

Written by Kerri Maniscalco

Published by Jimmy Patterson September 20 2016

My star rating: 3 stars

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life. Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world. (Goodreads)

I’m going to start off by saying that I didn’t hate this book but I also didn’t love it. My feelings about this one are strong in both positive and negative lights. I guess I’ll start with the positive. Thomas Cresswell – an amazing character! He was so smart and sassy! A hard working man who made his job look easy and he had such great come backs for everything. It was quite obvious that he fell for Audrey as soon as he saw her, but he didn’t wear his heart on his sleeve. Instead he took to witty remarks so that he could get a reaction out of Audrey. I LOVED that! Me and him could be great friends.

Second positive was that I love the idea of a female character stepping out of the social norm and following her dreams. Back then, it was absolutely unheard of for a woman to be performing autopsies or visiting the scenes of a crime, especially if that woman is of high social standing. A woman who pushes for her passions is a woman after my own heart. I’ve never followed what was assumed of me either so this one hit close to home. I also loved that she wanted to remain a girl and wear girly things and have a grotesque job.

Now that brings me to my first negative. She contradicted herself so many times that it annoyed the hell out of me. She would complain that she wished society would stop thinking of her as a breakable precious thing. She would sneak out at night to find a murderer, she would lie to her father, etc, but god forbid that someone look at her a certain way. It’s just not proper she would say. Ok then? You want to be proper but only when it suits you? I just didn’t get that. I understand that she was still a lady, but like I said, she wanted to be treated like a lady only when it suited her. I much preferred the smart confident woman she really was. When she was working with her Uncle she was remarkable. Confident, smart, witty, and so much more. When she stood up to certain people in her life she was astounding! Her sweet but sour comments were sharp and made me laugh. I have to remember that she was a young girl trying to figure out her place in the world, but at times she really annoyed me.

Another negative point was about half way though this book dragged. I sat there wondering when the world this book was going to end. I think part of the reason it dragged was I figured it out way too quickly. I won’t spoil this for anyone, but very early on in the book I picked up on a few things and knew exactly who Jack the Ripper was.

All in all, the book was ok, the writing was good, and the characters were interesting. What were your thoughts? Did you figure out the ending?

Hope you enjoyed a wonderful reading weekend!

