I first saw this tag over on the Books Amino app. I was so drawn in to the tag I immediately went to my bookshelves and started finding books to fit the questions. So here it is!

1 – Best colour combo on a book cover

the-sun-is-also-a-star

I don’t know why, but I’ve always loved the colour purple and orange together. They are on opposite sides of the colour spectrum and don’t compliment each other at all, but I think that the contrast is what draws me in. Not to mention the overall design of this cover is unique and draws your eye. Nicola Yoon’s covers are just gorgeous!

2 – Best typography or font on a book cover

passenger

I am a sucker for large flowing fonts that weave around the cover! In fact, I love EVERYTHING about this cover! But what draws me into this font the most is that it’s curved, some letters are at different angles, and all the letters aren’t the same size. My eye immediately gets drawn into irregularities. I love it when things aren’t exactly uniform.

3 – Best simple cover

the-long-way-to-a-small-angry-planet

 I haven’t gotten around to reading this one yet, but as soon as I saw the cover I just knew this was a book I had to read! There’s something so impactful about this cover. It speaks of so many things all at once and it’s just so beautiful. For some reason these books are impossible to find in Canada. I looked all over online and in stores but I ended up having to order them from the UK. This book and its sequel are on my shelves to be read soon!

4 – Best end pages

End pages.JPG

End pages seem to be a thing of the past. In older books there was almost always a pattern or picture on the end pages. I personally think it’s time to bring it back! There’s something beautiful about opening a book and seeing patters, pictures, and colours to start off your reading experience. This picture is from The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. The colours are so rich and the girl is stunning. She is exactly how I would picture Shazi, the main character!

5 – Best map

three-dark-crowns-map

This is the map from Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. I absolutely love maps in books and I frequently refer back to them while I’m reading. This one is absolutely stunning! I love that all of the elements the three Queens control are represented all over the map. And instead of just writing the name of the place in the location, there is a picture representing the town and a scroll with it’s name. Beautiful!!

6 – Best naked hardcover

Wayfarer hardcover.JPG

Seriously, whoever designed this book needs all the awards!!! My favourite movie growing up was the Goonies, and ever since then, I see a Pirate ship and I’m all in!! The first book Passenger (which I’ve already mentioned above) also has a beautiful naked hard cover with the picture of a silver tree with long roots. An honourable mention for best naked hard cover goes to Heartless by Marissa Meyer!

7 – Best back cover

best-back-cover

Caraval by Stephanie Garber’s wins the best back cover. A few others were in the running but every time I saw the back of this book I stopped and stared at it for a while. I loved that this book included letters and tickets to the Caraval. The one on the back is so pretty. The front cover is amazing as well!!

8 – Best chapter headers

best-chapter-header

I’m not sure if I was the only one (I sincerely hope that I wasn’t) that took a while to notice the buildings within the wings. Once I saw them there I felt utterly stupid that I didn’t see it before. This cover was just so stunning and I’m happy to see that it was repeated at the beginning of each chapter!

9 – Best illustrations

illuminae-pages

The Illuminae Files series by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. The layout and illustrations throughout these books were just so unique and captivating. They’re laid out as a case file with pictures, diagrams, emails, instant messages, and more. It was so refreshing to read a book in a slightly different way than just a regular novel. This is only one of the hundreds of different beautiful pages I could have chosen!

10 – Best spines

lunar-spines

I absolutely love how the entire Lunar Chronicles looks together on a shelf! The font is all the same, it’s shiny, and there is a picture on the bottom resembling each character. I love that each and every one of them has the same colour scheme that include the colour red. And to think – I almost didn’t even read this series because I didn’t like the cover of Cinder! I assumed that since there was a red high heel that it would be girly and not something I was in to. Glad I got over that because this was one of the best series I’ve read!

11 – Favourite cover on your shelves

For this one I must include two. To pick just one would be impossible. Every time I tried to pick on I felt bad about the other. Vengeance Road has one of the best colour schemes and I love the vintage feel to it. At first glance it looks so pretty until you realize that there are guns and skeletons! My other favourite is Caraval by Stephanie Garber. The flowing font is gorgeous, and the shiny blue and red that offset against the black backdrop catches your eye immediately. Honourable mention goes to Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I’ve only mentioned that one twice so far in this tag so I thought I might as well include it!! I hope you enjoyed this tag! If you’ve done this tag please comment with a link to your tag because I would love to see it! Happy reading all!

