WIRES AND NERVE (Graphic novel)

Written by Marissa Meyer, Illustrated by Douglas Holgate

Published by Feiwel and Friends, January 31 2017

My star rating: 4.5 stars

In her first graphic novel, Marissa Meyer continues the story of the Lunar Chronicles by following everyones favourite android, Iko. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the groups leader. The amazing group of 9 heroes must come together once again to keep the new found peace between two worlds.

Let me just say……. FINALLY!!! This one has been sitting on my wish list for more than 6 months. As soon as I heard that this graphic novel was happening I could feel the excitement in my bones. As much as I love each and every one of the characters, Iko will always be the best part of the Lunar Chronicles. Ok maybe her and Thorne but Iko is still first. It was so nice being reunited with these 9 fantastic characters! They all came back in this first volume of graphic novels, but some characters weren’t explored as much as others due to the size and the story line, but I’m sure we will get equal visiting rights as this series continues. Thankfully Iko’s spunk, Thorne’s quick remarks and love of himself, and Cress’s smarts and cuteness were out in full force. I laughed out loud a few times and had to smile thinking to myself “It feels good to be back”.

And I have to say that taking this series to a graphic novel was very refreshing. I think there is still some story to be told in this world but to continue it in novel form would have been a bit too much. Taking it this route gave it new life and brightness which I much appreciated. And speaking of brightness – look at the illustrations! The cover is gorgeous – the dark deep blue’s and the bright contrasting oranges is stunning. The illustrations throughout the book are incredible as well. I was happy to see that how some of the characters were drawn were really close to how I pictured they would look – especially Cress and Thorne. I do kind of wish that there was more colour to the illustrations though. The cover was so bright and eye catching but the illustrations throughout the graphic novel were monotone and bland. Not to say that I didn’t love every stroke in the drawings, I just wish there was some pops of colour.

The only problem I had with this was that it felt like there wasn’t enough. I wish that all of the characters could have been explored, especially Cinder as she was the main focus of the entire series. I realize I can’t have everything and my  expectations of this book were untouchable. If I wanted more of Iko I can’t have more of Cinder. I need to tell myself to calm down and that I can’t have my cake and eat it too. Cinder’s time is coming in further instalments…. there I’m better now.

All in all I LOVED this! I loved that Iko was the main focus, the illustrations were incredible, and I can’t wait to continue the Lunar journey through the world of graphic novels! Thanks for giving us more Marissa Meyer!!

