No, your days aren’t getting mixed up. It is in fact Thursday when I’m posting a Top 5 Tuesday post. I got incredibly busy early on in the week and figured that since Thursday still starts with a ‘T’ I was safe to post this later lol.

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly meme where I explore different topics. If you are interested in doing my topic on your blog feel free! Also you can use this graphic, just link my site 🙂

Top 5 Tuesday

I don’t read many non fiction books. I prefer fiction and fantasy but of the non fiction novels I’ve read, they’ve all impacted me more than I imagined. I’m a firm believer that you’re never too old to learn something new and reading non fiction is a great tool for learning. There are so many places in the world that I will never visit, and so many situations I will never get to experience, so reading about them allows me to see those places through words and understand the emotions and thoughts that certain situations bring out in a person. Reading non fiction not only teaches you about places and things, but it enlightens your mind and soul to think twice about the things in your life. And as I write this, I’m realizing just how much I do like non fiction and I hope to read more this year! So here are my top 5 non fiction:

little-princes

Little Princes by Conor Grennan. I’m still not sure what motivated me to pick this one up but I am sooooo glad that I did! At the age of 29, Conor gives up his job to travel the world. Looking for travelling and life experiences, he goes to Nepal and volunteers for three months at a Children’s home. He didn’t necessarily love kids, or have the skills to take care of them, but he volunteered anyways. Very quickly the kids at the Little Princes home found their way into his heart. When he learns the truth about these children’s past he is stunned. They weren’t orphans at all but victims of child trafficking. Men promising their families that these children will be safe and protected against the unrest of civil war for a large fee. The men took the money and abandoned the children in Kathmandu without homes. This book is about his growth and experiences as he attempts to reunite these children with their families and it’s just beautiful and heartwarming to read!

i-am-malala

Next on my list is I Am Malala. I commuted to work at the time of her story and followed her movements on the news almost daily. I remember being inspired by the power of her words and her determination to help children when she herself was only a child. On my commute home from work one night I was flipping through radio stations and happened to hear an announcer say “if you’re just tuning in, Malala has been shot by the Talaban and her condition is not known”. I cried. I couldn’t imagine a child being a target for assassination. After reading this book I fell more in love with her, their family, and the strength they had to keep going. She continues to be an inspiration to me and my daughter.

Candy Girl.jpg

On a lighter note – I mention Candy Girl. This book made me laugh and cringe the whole way through. Juno was one of my favourite movies and I was blown away when I learned of Diablo Cody’s past. People make assumptions that strippers can’t amount to anything or can’t have brains because they dance. This woman proved everyone wrong and I was so glad. But reading about her time as a stripper was an eye opener that’s for sure!

You are here.jpg

You are here by Chris Hadfield is not a novel. Technically it’s a picture book but I think it still counts. When Chris Hadfield went up in space it was a very exciting time for my area in Canada. Chris is actually from Sarnia Ontario, which is just a few minutes from where I live, and we were following his movements in space because he planned on taking a picture when he passed by. He will go down in history for how accessible he made space information to the general public – and of course the song he performed in space as well. The pictures look like something out of a fantasy movie. This earth is so beautiful and I’m so glad he made taking pictures of this planet a focus while he was floating around up there!

the-diary-of-anne-frank

Last, but certainly not least, is the obvious Anne Frank. I didn’t read this one until a few years ago and I swear it tore out a piece of my heart. The horrors she (and millions of others) had to endure are beyond my comprehension. The most incredible thing that struck me was the fact that even though she was going through all of this, she remained a young girl. The things she thought of and said seemed so normal in the face of devastation. My daughter is around the same age that Anne Frank was when she wrote this, so to compare the two experiences blows my mind. I plan on having my daughter read this one very soon so she can see how it was for someone her age to live through those horrors. I’ve been putting it off because I wasn’t sure if she could handle it, but the point will be that no one ever gave Anne Frank a choice if she could handle this situation.

So there they are – my top 5 non fiction. If you’ve read any non fiction and have any recommendations I would love to hear them!!!

