It’s the middle of winter in Canada and everything is just damp, cold, and blah. I miss the colours and brightness of the spring, summer, and fall. So I got to thinking about my top 5 favourite book covers and I thought I would share them with you. These are in no particular order because there’s no way possible I could pick between these 5!!

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly meme where I explore different topics. If you are interested in doing my topic on your blog feel free! Also you can use this graphic, just link my site 🙂

Top 5 Tuesday

winter

Winter by Marissa Meyer. I have to be honest that I hated the cover of Cinder. The red high heel shoe made me think it would be an overly girly read. That couldn’t have been farther from the truth though! I love the designs of these covers and how they all work with each other. The font is so beautiful as well. But of all the books in the series this one just pops! The white shading around the apple makes it look as if the apple is actually glowing! Many books have tried to put an apple on the cover as a focal point but this one is the clear winner!

vengeance-road

Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman. I LOVE this cover. I mean obsessed. As soon as I bought it I put it on display because the spine would simply not do. The retro feel of the graphic itself put together with the hues of orange, yellow, cream, and brown are so unique and draw your eye immediately. It took me a while to notice that the “subject matter” if you will, isn’t all that beautiful. I mean we have skulls, bones, and guns. Those aren’t technically the most pleasant things to look at. But coupled with the flowers and cactus and that font! SWOON! I have to admit something horrible though – I still haven’t read it! But it’s on my TBR shelf to pick up soon. I just like looking at this one lol

Everything everything.jpg

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. Whoever Nicola Yoon has doing her covers is a clear master. They are so bright, colourful, and aesthetically pleasing. This one totally reminded me of a colouring book. Am I the only one that sees it that way? All I can see when I look at this one is beautiful doodles that I wish I could draw. From what I understand it was Nicola Yoon’s husband that did the illustrations for the book but I’m not sure if he did the cover as well. If he did then they are one talented couple!

passenger

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. Yet another book on this list that I have yet to read but I look at it every day. Apparently I have an obsession with large flowing font and this one is one of my favourites. I love the colours in this one and the dual perspective of the city and the pirate ship underneath. The illustrator did an incredible job matching colour and picture to increase the feel. The top part depicting the city inside the bottle is bright, colourful and promising. The picture of the pirate ship below the bottle is dark, deep and scary. Wayfarer, which is the second in this series, is also incredible!

Six of Crows.jpg

Lastly I have Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. The details and shading in the feathers are obviously gorgeous, but it’s how the buildings at the bottom show up that are the most incredible. Instead of the hard lines of drawing the buildings themselves, the illustrator used the wings and then shading to show the buildings and you can’t really see them at first glance. Not to mention the fact that the pages of these books are black!! I am an absolute sucker for coloured pages. Crooked Kingdom, which is the second in this duo logy, has red pages which makes it hard to decide how to put them on my shelves – do I display the spines or the coloured pages? The jury is still out on that one!

Hope everyone is enjoying their Tuesday! Happy reading all!

