THE CHEMIST

Written by Stephenie Meyer

Published by Little, Brown and Co, November 8 2016

My star rating: 3 stars

I wanted to fall in love with this book. Me and Stephenie Meyer books are on great terms. And by that I mean that I’ve loved everything she’s published. I wasn’t one of those crazy Twi-hards who obsessed about being a Cullen, but I quickly devoured the Twilight series as fast as I could. And The Host was hands down my favourite book of hers. If you haven’t picked it up yet, it took quite a long time to get into the story (just about 100 pages or so if memory serves me right) but by the end I was so immersed in the story and cried like a baby in the end. No, the book isn’t like the movie which I hated so there’s that. My point is, I appreciate Stephenie Meyers writing and wasn’t doubting I would like this one. In hindsight, there’s always room for doubt.

An ex-agent is on the run from her former employers. She’s forced to take on one final case to clear her name and save her life. She used to work for the U.S. Government in a department so secret that it didn’t even have a name. Without warning, her coworker and the only person she’s ever trusted is killed and now she is on the run. The Government wants her dead and soon. When her former handler offers her a way out, she realizes that she’s tired of never staying in the same place, changing her name, changing her looks so she accepts the offer even though she will have a target on her back bigger than normal. An expert in chemicals and torture, she teams up with an unlikely group to save herself.

I was so excited when I found out about this book. Stephenie Meyer was finally stepping outside of her paranormal comfort zone. And this one started out so good. Government agencies, spies, hiding, chemicals, torture, and so much more. But then I got bored – beyond bored. Her attention to detail is normally something that I appreciate but in this case it was a little too much for me. At times there was so much detail I found myself getting confused as to what was really going on – almost like information overload. It felt as if 90% of this book was information and only 10% was action. When things were happening it was interesting to read, but the in-between bored me to tears. On top of that I felt it was repetitive and predictable. It seriously pains me to say all that because I really wanted to love this but it didn’t just happen for me. Now there are a few people who didn’t like the Twilight series but gave this one a shot and they really really liked it! So please, don’t let what I say change your mind about this one. This is only my personal experience with this book and there are quite a few people that liked it. So if this sounds like something that interests you by all means READ IT!! But this book just wasn’t for me. Let me know what you thought about this one!!

